Virginia Real Estate License Requirements
So here’s the real meat of this guide. I want to walk you through, step by step, exactly what the Virginia real estate license requirements are. Compared to some other states, the Virginia requirements really aren’t that bad. Alright, enough chatting, let’s get into the requirements…
Now I’m not an attorney (you can read the state’s law here), but here’s the gist of what the requirements are:
- Be honest.
- Pass all of Virginia’s required real estate education courses.
- Not had previous disciplinary action or revocation of license in any area.
- Report all past felony convictions. Report all misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within five years of the date of the application.
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Submit a completed application.
- Pass the state approved exam within 12 months of submitting a completed application.
- Follow all exam procedures.
If you don’t meet all these requirements, you may still be able to get your license, but you’ll need to get special approval from Virginia’s Real Estate Board.
As I have talked about before, there is a fee involved to file your application, and it is currently $170. The coursework can be done online at a cost of less than $200. So all together you can get your license for about $400 or less. This may sound like a lot, but it really isn’t when compared to other states. Texas, for example, has a lot more required coursework, and generally and applicant will pay around $500 at least (and that is with some college credit counting toward their education) just to do the required coursework.
So it isn’t real bad in Virginia. So if you are on the fence about this, I’ll encourage you to go for it!
Since I got my license, I have saved and made a lot of money in real estate.
And I only do it part time!